Have a question? Give us a call: (302) 856-7958

The Library Board of Commissioners

Board of Commisioner Position Opening

The library is seeking candidates from the Georgetown mailing area to serve a term appointment to the Board of Commissioners. The term would run from appointment through June 30, 2023.

Candidates for this board position should stop by the library for an application, and return it by mail to the Georgetown Public Library or email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Board of Commissioners is the governing board of the library. They set policies governing the library's operations and actively support library related legislation. 

Library Board of Commissioners 2017-2018

President: Dottie Teixeira

Vice President: William Pritchett

Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. John Martin

Member: Marilyn Tietjen

Member: Deirdre A. McCartney

Regular meetings of the library’s Board of Commissioners meetings usually are held on the third Tuesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at the library. Meetings are open to the public. Call the Library to confirm date and time.

Applications to become a member of the Board of Commissioners are available at the library. Appointment as a commissioner is made by the Resident Judge (currently T. Henley Graves) of the Superior Court of the State of Delaware for Sussex County following the recommendation of the Board of Commissioners.

There are five commissioners who serve five-year staggered terms. One board position opens each year. 

  • Candidates must be a resident of the Georgetown area.
  • Board members are expected to attend monthly meetings plus other library functions.
  • Applications are available at the circulation desk.
  • An interview will be scheduled for each applicant.